Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board brings with it an enormous experience from government, private sector, and academia. Their advice and guidance is fundamental to the success of the Institute.  For media or interview inquiries with any of our Payne Institute Advisory Board please contact Greg Clough at (303)384-2218 or

Nawal Al-Hosany

Executive Director, Sustainability and Brand; Director of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, Sustainable Energy for All

Mimi Alemayehou

Managing Director, Black Rhino Group; Executive Advisor and Chair, Blackstone Africa Infrastructure L.P.

Atul Arya

Senior Vice President and Chief Energy Strategist, IHS Markit

Deborah Avant

Director, Sié Chéou-Kang Center for International Security and Diplomacy

Sally Benson

Professor, Energy Resources Engineering; Co-Director, Precourt Institute for Energy; Director, Global Climate & Energy Project, Stanford University

Roberto Bocca

Head of Energy and Basic Industries, Member of the Executive Committee, World Economic Forum

Ken Caldeira

Climate Scientist, Carnegie Institution for Science, Department of Global Ecology, Stanford University

Gary Dirks

Senior Director of Global Futures Laboratory, Director LightWorks at Arizona State University

David Donoghue

Ambassador (retired), Ireland Department of Foreign Affairs

Kelly Sims Gallagher

Professor of Energy and Environmental Policy, The Fletcher School, Tufts University

Paula Gant

President and CEO, GTI Energy
Former Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

Deborah Gordon

Director, Energy and Climate Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Mark Howells

Editor-in-Chief, Energy Strategy Reviews; Department of Energy Technology, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Daniel Kammen

Professor of Energy,
University of California, Berkeley

Steven Kokuda

Vice President/Executive Director, International Copper Association


Vice Minister of Mines, Ministry of Energy and Mines of Peru

Sarah Ladislaw

Managing Director, RMI

John Lynch

Managing Director, Principal Investments, Infrastructure Investments Group, J.P. Morgan Asset Management

Marcelino Madrigal Martinez

Commissioner, Mexican Energy Regulatory Commission

Valérie Marcel

Associate Fellow, Chatham House; Project Lead, New Producers Group


Senior Director, Center for Energy Studies, Baker Institute

Todd Mitchell

Founder and President,
Two Seven Ventures

David Monsma

Vice President and
Executive Director, Energy and Environment Program,
Aspen Institute

Carol Nakhle

Founder and CEO,
Crystol Energy

Ignacio Pérez-Arriaga

Professor, Electrical Engineering, Comillas University, Spain

Michael Ross

Professor, UCLA Department of Political Science

Nick Sangermano

Managing Director,
CohnReznick Capital

Tisha Schuller

Consultant, Speaker, Writer
Principal, Adamantine Energy

Stephen H. Simon

Founder of Simon Equity Partners, LLC

Youba Sokona

Special Advisor, Sustainable Development, South Centre

Sandra Stash

Executive Vice President, Safety, Operations, Engineering & External Affairs, Tullow Oil

David Victor

Professor, International Relations, School of Global Policy and Strategy, University of California, San Diego

Meredith Whitney

Senior Vice President,
Arch Capital