Experts and Staff

A dedicated experts and staff run the day-to-day operations of the Institute, and manage its research outputs, training, and public engagement activities. For media or interview inquiries with the Payne Institute Director Morgan Bazilian or any other of the Payne Institute leadership, please contact Greg Clough at (303)384-2218 or gclough@mines.edu.

Gregory Clough

Deputy Director, Payne Institute
Engineering Hall 123
303-384-2218
gclough@mines.edu

Brad Handler

Payne Institute Research Associate
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
bhandler@mines.edu 

JORDY M. LEE

Payne Institute Program Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370A
303-384-2737
jorlee@mines.edu

Baba Freeman

Payne Institute ESG Research Associate
Energy, Critical Minerals and Metals
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370E
bifreeman@mines.edu

Aaron Malone

Payne Institute Research Associate 
Brown Hall, BB210
amalone@mines.edu

 

 

 

Juliana Reid

Communications and Events Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370B
303-384-2730
jreid@mines.edu

 

 

 

Elsa Barron

Payne Institute Communications Associate

 

 

 

EARTH OBSERVATION GROUP

Chris Elvidge

Senior Research Associate
Director of Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370J
303-384-2731
celvidge@mines.edu

Tilottama (Tilo) Ghosh

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
303-384-2735
tghosh@mines.edu

Feng Chi (David) Hsu

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370G
303-384-2733
fengchihsu@mines.edu

Tamara Sparks

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
tsparks@mines.edu

 

Mikhail (Misha) Zhizhin

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370I
303-384-2736
mzhizhin@mines.edu

ADVANCED ENERGY SYSTEMS

Suzanne Beach

Program Coordinator
Advanced Energy Systems 
(303)273-3627
sbeach@mines.edu

Valerie C. Holt

Administrative Director and Instructor
Advanced Energy Systems
(303)273-3620
vholt@mines.edu

 

Student researchers

William Daniels

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics​

CHIANG CHENG SIEW

MS, Natural Resources and Energy Policy

 

 

CANSU PERDELI DEMIRKAN

PhD, Earth Resources Development Engineering

 

 

Bryce Walsh

BS, Engineering