Experts and Staff

A dedicated experts and staff run the day-to-day operations of the Institute, and manage its research outputs, training, and public engagement activities. For media or interview inquiries with the Payne Institute Director Morgan Bazilian or any other of the Payne Institute leadership, please contact Greg Clough at (303)384-2218 or gclough@mines.edu.

Gregory Clough

Deputy Director, Payne Institute
Engineering Hall 123
303-384-2218
gclough@mines.edu

Baba Freeman

Payne Institute ESG Research Associate
Energy, Critical Minerals and Metals
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370A
bifreeman@mines.edu

Brad Handler

Payne Institute Program Manager,
Sustainable Finance Lab, and Researcher
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
bhandler@mines.edu 

Eran Hood

Payne Institute Research Associate
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
ehood@mines.edu 

ANNA AHLSTROM LITTLEFIELD

Payne Institute CCUS Program Manager
and Research Associate
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370A
303-384-2742
annalittlefield@mines.edu

 

 

 

Aaron Malone

Payne Institute Research Associate
Research Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Brown Hall, BB210
amalone@mines.edu

 

 

 

CAITLIN MCKENNIE

Payne Institute Research Associate
Critical Minerals
cmckennie@mines.edu

 

 

 

ALICIA POLO Y LA BORDA CAVERO

Payne Institute Research Associate
Program Manager, Center for Mining Sustainability
303-273-3978
aliciapoloylabordac@mines.edu

 

 

 

Cat Rachwalski

Payne Institute Operations Coordinator
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
crachwalski@mines.edu

 

 

 

Juliana Reid

Communications and Events Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370B
303-384-2730
jreid@mines.edu

 

 

 

COMMUNICATIONS ASSOCIATES

Elsa Barron

Payne Institute Communications Associate

 

 

 

Brooke Bowser

Payne Institute Communications Associate

Simon Lomax

Payne Institute Communications Associate
and Editor-at-Large

 

 

 

EARTH OBSERVATION GROUP

Chris Elvidge

Senior Research Associate
Director of Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370J
303-384-2731
celvidge@mines.edu

Namrata Chatterjee

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
namratachatterjee@mines.edu

Tilottama (Tilo) Ghosh

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
303-384-2735
tghosh@mines.edu

Feng Chi (David) Hsu

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370G
303-384-2733
fengchihsu@mines.edu

Stephen Pon

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370G
ypon@mines.edu

 

Tamara Sparks

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
tsparks@mines.edu

 

Mikhail (Misha) Zhizhin

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370I
303-384-2736
mzhizhin@mines.edu

ADVANCED ENERGY SYSTEMS

Suzanne Beach

Program Coordinator
Advanced Energy Systems 
(303)273-3627
sbeach@mines.edu

Valerie C. Holt

Administrative Director and Instructor
Advanced Energy Systems
(303)273-3620
vholt@mines.edu

 

Student researchers

Nissi Abanga

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

Ahmed Antor

MS, Computer Science

Kemalcan Aydogdu

PhD, Mining

William Daniels

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics​

Tobin Ford

BS, Metal & Materials Eng. 

Meng Jia

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics

Al Hassan

PhD, Mineral & Energy Economics

Olga Khaliukova

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics

Seunghoo Kim

BS, Geophysical Engineering

 

 

Tyler Krause

MS, Data Science

Zachary Lee

BS, Computer Science

Wyatt Lindsey

MS, Humanities Engineering & Science

Ebenezer Manful-Sam

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

 

 

Hope McLaughlin

MS, Advanced Energy Systems

Elijah Mt. Castle

BS, Computer Science

 

 

Pierluigi Nichilo

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

 

 

Daniel Pack

BS, Mechanical Engineering

 

 

Vince Palombi

BS, Engineering Physics

 

 

Paris Porter Bradley

ME, Nuclear Engineering

 

 

Bonnie Powell

MS, Advanced Energy Systems

Peyton Sanders

MS, Advanced Energy Systems

 

 

Darshil Shah

MS, Mineral & Energy Econ

 

 

Chiang Cheng Siew

MS, Natural Resources

 

 

Sharfi Rahman

MS, Computer Science

 

 

Kellis Ward

BS, Applied Math & Statistics