Experts and Staff

A dedicated experts and staff run the day-to-day operations of the Institute, and manage its research outputs, training, and public engagement activities. For media or interview inquiries with the Payne Institute Director Morgan Bazilian or any other of the Payne Institute leadership, please contact Greg Clough at (303)384-2218 or gclough@mines.edu.

Gregory Clough

Deputy Director, Payne Institute
Engineering Hall 123
303-384-2218
gclough@mines.edu

Baba Freeman

Payne Institute ESG Research Associate
Energy, Critical Minerals and Metals
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370A
bifreeman@mines.edu

Brad Handler

Payne Institute Program Manager,
Sustainable Finance Lab, and Researcher
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
bhandler@mines.edu 

JORDY M. LEE

Payne Institute Program Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370E
303-384-2737
jorlee@mines.edu

ANNA AHLSTROM LITTLEFIELD

Payne Institute CCUS Program Manager
and Research Associate
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370A
303-384-2742
annalittlefield@mines.edu

 

 

 

Aaron Malone

Payne Institute Research Associate
Research Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Brown Hall, BB210
amalone@mines.edu

 

 

 

ALICIA POLO Y LA BORDA CAVERO

Payne Institute Research Associate
Program Manager, Center for Mining Sustainability
303-273-3978
aliciapoloylabordac@mines.edu

 

 

 

Cat Rachwalski

Payne Institute Operations Coordinator
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370
crachwalski@mines.edu

 

 

 

Juliana Reid

Communications and Events Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370B
303-384-2730
jreid@mines.edu

 

 

 

COMMUNICATIONS ASSOCIATES

Elsa Barron

Payne Institute Communications Associate

 

 

 

Brooke Bowser

Payne Institute Communications Associate

Simon Lomax

Payne Institute Communications Associate
and Editor-at-Large

 

 

 

EARTH OBSERVATION GROUP

Chris Elvidge

Senior Research Associate
Director of Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370J
303-384-2731
celvidge@mines.edu

Tilottama (Tilo) Ghosh

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
303-384-2735
tghosh@mines.edu

Feng Chi (David) Hsu

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370G
303-384-2733
fengchihsu@mines.edu

Tamara Sparks

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370H
tsparks@mines.edu

 

Mikhail (Misha) Zhizhin

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370I
303-384-2736
mzhizhin@mines.edu

ADVANCED ENERGY SYSTEMS

Suzanne Beach

Program Coordinator
Advanced Energy Systems 
(303)273-3627
sbeach@mines.edu

Valerie C. Holt

Administrative Director and Instructor
Advanced Energy Systems
(303)273-3620
vholt@mines.edu

 

Student researchers

William Daniels

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics​

Sankalp Garg

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

 

 

Tobias Hull

PhD, Advanced Energy Systems

 

 

Meng Jia

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics

Olga Khaliukova

PhD, Applied Math & Statistics

Austin Kinzer

PhD, Advanced Energy Systems

 

 

Zachary Lee

BS, Computer Science

 

 

Wyatt Lindsey

MS, Humanities Engineering & Science

Hope McLaughlin

MS, Advanced Energy Systems

Maia Menefee

MS, Advanced Energy Systems

 

 

Cansu Perdeli Demirkan

PhD, Earth Resources Dvlp. Engineering

 

 

Michael Tanner

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

Bryce Walsh

BS, Engineering

 

 

Daming Wang

BS, Computer Science