Our Experts

A dedicated experts and staff run the day-to-day operations of the Institute, and manage its research outputs, training, and public engagement activities. For media or interview inquiries with the Payne Institute Director Morgan Bazilian or any other of the Payne Institute leadership, please contact Greg Clough at (303)384-2218 or gclough@mines.edu.

Morgan Bazilian

Director, Payne Institute
Professor of Public Policy
Engineering Hall 111
303-384-2156
mbazilian@mines.edu

Gregory Clough

Deputy Director, Payne Institute
Engineering Hall 123
303-384-2218
gclough@mines.edu

ANNA AHLSTROM LITTLEFIELD

Payne Institute CCUS Program Manager
and Research Associate
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 E
303-384-2742
annalittlefield@mines.edu

 

 

 

Aaron Malone

Payne Institute Research Associate
Research Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Brown Hall, BB210
amalone@mines.edu

 

 

 

Victoria Patti

Operations Coordinator
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 A
303-384-2721
victoria.patti@mines.edu 

Juliana Reid

Communications and Events Manager
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 B
303-384-2730
jreid@mines.edu

 

 

 

Jennifer Warner

Events Convener
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 A
303-384-2732
jennifer.warner@mines.edu 

 

 

EARTH OBSERVATION GROUP

Christopher Elvidge

Senior Research Associate
Director of Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 J
303-384-2731
celvidge@mines.edu

Namrata Chatterjee

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 H
namratachatterjee@mines.edu

Tilottama (Tilo) Ghosh

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 H
303-384-2735
tghosh@mines.edu

Feng Chi (David) Hsu

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
fengchihsu@mines.edu

Stephen Pon

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 G
303-384-2733
ypon@mines.edu

 

Tamara Sparks

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 H
tsparks@mines.edu

 

Mikhail (Misha) Zhizhin

Payne Institute Research Associate
Earth Observation Group
1600 Jackson Street, Suite 370 I
303-384-2736
mzhizhin@mines.edu

RESEARCH SCIENTISTS

Kiran Damodaran

Research Scientist
kiran.damodaran@mines.edu

Kellis Ward

Research Scientist
kellisward@mines.edu

 

AFFILIATED PARTNERS

Macdonald Amoah

Communications Associate
mamoah@mines.edu 

Baba Freeman

Communications Associate
baba.i.freeman@gmail.com

Brad Handler

Program Manager,
Sustainable Finance Lab, and Researcher
bhandler@mines.edu 

Simon Lomax

Policy and Outreach Advisor, Responsible Gas
slomax@mines.edu 

 

 

 

Norma Mozeé

Senior Advisor, Critical Minerals and Energy
normamozee@msn.com

 

 

Alicia Polo y La Borda Cavero

Senior Advisor
aliciapoloylabordac@mines.edu

 

 

 

Rick Tallman

Program Manager, Native American
Mining and Energy Sovereignty Initiative
richard.tallman@mines.edu

 

 

 

Greg Wischer

Communications Associate
gregory.wischer@deigratiaminerals.com

 

Kristin Ziv

Communications Associate
ksziv@outlook.com 

 

Student researchers

Rueben Anafo

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

Jared Andreatta

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

Emmanuella Asiedu

MS, Mineral and Energy Economics

Kemalcan Aydogdu

PhD, Mining Engineering

Vandan Bhalala

MS, Petroleum Engineering

Mary Bingham Chee

MS, Operations Research with Engineering

Gabriel Collins 

MS, Mineral and Energy Economics

Reese Eppers

MS, Mineral and Energy Economics

Tobin Ford

BS, Metal & Materials Eng. 

Isabel Guajardo

MS, Mineral and Energy Economics

Siddhant Kulkarni​

MS, Mineral & Energy Economics

Liam O’Byrne

BS, Computer Science

 

 

Brooke Olsson

BS, Engineering Physics

Ping Zhang

MS, Computer Science